Interim Review Recap

For the interim review I explained how I have chosen a site along the Wicker High Street. At this point this was not a fixed site but I was sure I wanted to work nearby Windrush Way, keeping close links to SADACCA (Sheffield and District African Caribbean Community Association).

Windrush way stood out to me because this street name was a recent change in 2020, the result of a series of petitions. I feel it is important to spread knowledge regarding the Windrush Generation and honour those of the population that make up Wicker. I feel it would be interesting to design an intervention/a series of interventions along The Wicker High Street and down Windrush way that work on the exchange of knowledge, learning and listening. Up until this point I have made a series of models, combining together different concepts in order to inform adaptable/multi-use spaces.

I decided to use Ian Nesbitt as my climate activist as I was interested in his socially engaged design. Having had time to reflect on my design and concept I now feel that the art form Ian will be using in my intervention will be radio. The reason for this is because radio is a useful tool to spread knowledge and shed light on each others experiences and stories. This also entails people listening and learning from one another. Ian was also very interested in working with existing communities, one of the strongest existing communities in Wicker currently are SADACCA and I would like to bring the communities attributes and assets into my design.

For now I feel that it is important for me to get to know SADACCA’s community a bit better. Following on from this I would like to find a way to merge socially engaged design with the theme of spreading knowledge and listening. Whilst doing this I would like to keep the site on The Wicker High Street, looking into possible derelict site to house the intervention. For the intervention I will research into radio and the spaces/tools that are needed to make this work.

1 Comment

Leave a comment